skip navigation

Locations for the Four NSCRO Women's 15s Regional Playoffs Set

By Bryn Chivers, NSCRO, 10/15/18, 2:00PM EDT


We are proud to announce the four schools hosting the NSCRO Women’s 15s Regional Playoffs. All playoffs will be played on 10 – 11 November 2018 at the following locations:

  • Northeast Regional Championships (Region 1) - Union College, Schenectady, NY
  • Mid-Atlantic Regional Championship (Region 2) - York College of Pennsylvania
  • Central Region Championship (Region 3) - Denison University, Granville, OH
  • West Regional Championship (Region 4) - Wayne State College, Wayne, NE

Hannah Freidline, captain of the York College Rugby Club, says, “Being a host for the playoffs gives us a chance to get our name out there.” She hopes this opportunity will be a positive experience for other teams at York College. With that, Freidline stated, “I hope that regionals help the team to gain relationships with other teams.”

“Hosting a regional brings the attention of administrators from the hosting school to not only their rugby program, but to the fact that there is a pathway to the national championships at stake,” Marc Ferguson, commissioner of the Ohio Valley Women’s Collegiate Rugby Conference (of which Denison University is a member). “Hosting a regional also shows that our conference is fully capable of organizing and running a high level competition,” commented Ferguson.  

Darrin Barner, head coach of the Wayne State Women’s Rugby Club, said that hosting the West Regional Playoff at the large Wayne Rugby Park is about “…the experience for the other teams. Giving them an atmosphere that they cannot get at home.”

“Union College and the Union College Women’s Rugby Club are excited to host the NSCRO Women’s Northeast Championship,” Head Coach Mark Peeney quoted. The tournament will bring together all aspects of the college community and help “promote Women’s rugby on campus.”

The 2018 Women’s National Championship finals will be held at Life University in Marietta, GA on 01 – 02 December 2018.