skip navigation

Wayne State College Wins Back-to-Back Women's 15s National Championship Title

By Jeannie Feliciano, NSCRO, 12/04/17, 1:00PM EST


Wayne State College of Wayne, Nebraska has taken the 2017 NSCRO Women's 15s National Title for a second year in a row.

The 2017 NSCRO Women's 15s National Championships were held at Life University in Marietta, GA this past weekend.Four teams represented each of the four conferences: Bentley University (Rugby Northeast), York College of Pennsylvania (Mid-Atlantic Rugby Football Union), Gustavus Adolphus College (Northern Lights) and Wayne State College (Prairie States WCRC).

Below is a quick synopsis of the weekend's matches. A more detailed synopsis will follow. 

Bentley University did their best to unseat the 2016 National champion, Wayne State; however, the Wildcats proved to be too strong and added another National Championship title with a final score of 46-26. 

In a seesaw game, Gustavus Adolphus came from behind to tie the score 36-36 in the final minute of regulation for 3rd/4th place which forced an overtime. After two 10-minute periods in overtime, York was able to add the game winning try by Amanda Tondin and sealed the win followed by a conversion from teammate Allison Schaefer. The final score was 43-36.

Leanna Rosberg of Wayne State College was named MVP.  Other awards given:

Heart & Soul

Sabrina Smith - Gustavus Adolphus College
Ashley Arena - York College of Pennsylvania
Yoanna Rodriguez - Bentley University
Sam Warneke - Wayne State College

All Championship 15s Team

Sabrina Smith - Gustavus Adolphus College
Tory Franciosi - Gustavus Adolphus College
Melissa Robertson - York College of Pennsylvania
Madeline Harder - York College of Pennsylvania
Amanda Tondin - York College of Pennsylvania
Lexie MacQuarrie - Bentley University
Yoanna Rodriguez - Bentley University
Emma Santosuosso - Bentley University
Christine Miranda - Bentley University
Julia Baxter - Wayne State College
Anna Fleecs - Wayne State College
Turner MacPhee - Wayne State College
Shelby Brown - Wayne State College
Leanna Rosberg - Wayne State College
Sam Warneke - Wayne State College