skip navigation

Wayne State College Crowned 2019 NSCRO Women's 7s National Champion

By Bryn Chivers, NSCRO, 04/30/19, 12:45PM EDT


This weekend the 2019 NSCRO Women’s 7s National Championship was held at Founders Field in Cheswick, PA.

Wayne State College from Nebraska took home the Championship trophy after defeating the University of Rochester 31-7. Endicott College edged out Simpson College by a score of 12-10 to decide the third-place finisher. 

Kennedy Jones of Wayne State was named MVP. 

The following players were named to the All-Tournament Team (pictured L-R):

Kennedy Jones – Wayne State College

Brooke Hoesing – Wayne State College

Emily Grey – University of Rochester

Anna Herrmann – Simpson College

Sydni Carpenter – University of Findlay

Nicole McCardle – Endicott College

Emily Scion – St. Bonaventure University (not pictured)

The final placings were as follows:

Championship Match: University of Wayne State College 31 Rochester 7

3rd/4th Place Match: Endicott College12, Simpson College 10

5th/6th Place Match: Eckerd College 14, Colgate University 12

7th/8th Place Match: Lee University 10, York College of PA 0

9th/10th Place Match: MiraCosta Community College 27, St Bonaventure University 12

11th/12th Place Match: University of Findlay 17, Angelo State University 12

13th/14th Place Match: Middlebury College 10, Colorado College 7 

15th/16th Place Match: Swarthmore College 17, California University of Pennsylvania 5

Games were played on two fields concurrently and all matches on Field 1 were live-streamed on NSCRO’s Women’s YouTube Channel where replays of all the matches are available.