skip navigation

Men's 7s Championship

2016 NSCRO Men's Penn Mutual "Life of Significance" Award recipients. Copyright 2016 Todd Bauders, Contrast Photography

The above photo features (from L to R): Leanne Action, Penn Mutual Assistant VP; Nathan "Gator" Adams (The Claremont Colleges), Ivan Messi (St. Mary's College of Maryland), Ke'Von Williams (New Mexico Highlands University), Chris Warden (Susquehanna University), Steve Cohen, NSCRO President


Click here for the current 7s rules, regs and forms.


The 2016 NSCRO 7s National Championship was a fantastic success. It was held in conjunction with the CRC 7s at Talen Energy Stadium (formerly PPL Park) as part of the festival of collegiate rugby that over 20,000 rugby enthusiasts attended. Pool play was held alongside the stadium on a world-class grass field.

Planning for the 2017 NSCRO 7s Championship is underway. The National Championship will be on June 3-4 n conjunction with the CRC 7s at Talen Energy (formerly PPL) Park in Philadelphia. There are 8 Qualifier 7s tournaments leading to the 2017 National Small College Rugby 7s Championship.

NSCRO prefers that 8 or more NSCRO teams enter the Qualifier Bracket with 6 teams being the minimum requirement in order for the winner to qualify for the NSCRO National 7s Championship.

We expect all regions to host at least one NSCRO 7s Qualifier.
If possible it would be good if each region could host two 7s events. One could be for preparation and another could be for qualification These could be split Autumn / Spring or both be in the same season.

The NSCRO 7s Tournaments can also be part of others 7s events as their own bracket within that event.

Play in or Host a NSCRO 7s Qualifier, you will be glad you did. Teams can enter more than one QT in an attempt to qualify for Nationals.

Click here and go to the NSCRO 7s Resources tab to get all of the information you need to host a QT. Please submit your application to host by December 22!

Please email Howard Kent - NSCRO 7s Commissioner - by clicking
here for more information as needed.

Approved 2016-17 NSCRO 7s QTs (as of January 15, 2017)
October 22 - Santa Rosa JC in Santa Rosa, CA. Contact is Steve Wren at

March 4 - Elon 7s hosted by Elon University in Elon, North Carolina. Contact is Ryan Bays at

March 25 - St. Mary's 7s hosted by St. Mary's College in St. Mary's City, Maryland. Contact is Ivan Messi at

April 8 - East Penn 7s hosted by Franklin & Marshall College in Lancaster, PA. Contact is Jon Niles at

April 8 - Tulane 7s hosted by Tulane University in New Orleans, Louisiana. Contact is Matt Austin at

April 8 - Foodbank 7s hosted by Plattsburgh State University in Plattsburgh, NY. Contact is Max Marie at

April 22 - Winona 7s hosted Winona State University in Winona, Minnesota. Contact is Ryan Vargas at

April 22 - Grove City 7s hosted by Grove City College & the Pittsburgh Harlequins RFC at Founders Field near Pittsburgh, PA. Contact is Geoff Jordan at


2016-17 NSCRO 7s Qualifying Tournaments - The Champions

Congratulations to Solano Community College on being the first team to qualify for the 2017 NSCRO 7s National Championship by winning the Santa Rosa NSCRO 7s Qualifying Tournament on Oct. 22.  If your club is interested in hosting a Spring NSCRO 7s QT, the due date for submittal of the QT Hosting Plan and Host Agreement is December 23.  These documents are found under NSCRO 7s Resources by clicking here. Address all questions to NSCRO Men's 7s Commissioner Howard Kent.

Solano Community College - 2016 Santa Rosa 7s Champion

Duke University - 2017 Elon 7s Champion


2016 NSCRO 7s Qualifying Tournaments - The Champions

Susquehanna University - 2016 Lord Fairfax 7s Champion

The Claremont Colleges - 2016 Pacific 7s Champion

Franklin & Marshall College - 2016 East Penn 7s Champion

Ithaca College - 2016 Grove City 7s Champions

LSU Alexandria - 2016 Lee 7s Champion

New Mexico Highlands University - 2016 Wayne 7s Champion

Babson College - 2016 Mitchell 7s Champion


St. Mary's College

NSCRO Men's 7s Commissioner

Howard Kent
Click to email

Results of 2016-17 Qualifying Tournaments

Santa Rosa 7s - Oct. 22, 2016 - Santa Rosa, CA
Final: Solano CC 31 - Sonoma State University 10
Solano Community College (Fairfield, CA) qualifies for National 7s Championship.

Elon 7s - March 4, 2017 - Elon, NC
Final: Duke University 24 - St. Mary's College 14
Duke University (Durham, NC) qualifies for National 7s Championship.

Results of 2016 Qualifying Tournaments

Lord Fairfax 7s - Middletown, VA
Final: Susquehanna University 20 - Lafayette College 19
Susquehanna (Selinsgrove, PA) qualifies for National 7s Championship

Pacific 7s - Stockton, CA
Final: The Claremont Colleges 31- University of the Pacific 12
Claremont (Claremont, CA) qualifies for National 7s Championship

East Penn 7s - Lancaster, PA
Franklin & Marshall College 14 - St. Mary's College 5
F&M qualifies for National 7s Championship

Grove City 7s - Founders Field, Cheswick, PA
Ithaca College 36 - SUNY Plattsburgh 29
Ithaca qualifies for National 7s Championship

Lee 7s - Chattanooga, TN
LSU Alexandria 17 - North Alabama 12
LSUA qualifies for National 7s Championship

Wayne 7s - Wayne, NE
New Mexico Highlands 38 - Wisconsin-Parkside 12
NMHU qualifies for National 7s Championship

Mitchell 7s - New London, CT
Babson 31 - Lafayette 22
Babson qualifies for National 7s Championship